450 Square Miles of God’s Glory

I enjoy working in all kinds of weather. And I hate it. The wide swath of Minnesota temperature has placed me in 100 degree temperatures while directing traffic and 10 below temps while tracking a felon through knee deep snow. I’ve been soaked in sweat and frozen to the bone and want to keep doing it until my body forbids so. Working as a cop in Minnesota lets me see, hear, taste, smell and touch all four uniquely distinct seasons. I feel the bite of the cold, wade through the muck of spring, sweat through the humid July, and smell the beauty of autumn.

Psalm 29  brings out these thoughts for it is a song that David wrote about nature and natural disasters. I realize that everything I experience during the 30,000 miles a year I put on my squad car shouts the glory of God.

“The God of glory thunders.” I keep a close ear to the weather reports and a close eye on the radar during the months of April, May and June. Turbulent weather can produce magnificent thunder storms that roll across my 450 square miles of patrol area. Just before a storm hits I’ll drive down a dirt road adjacent to an open sod field or sit at a lake access and soak it in with all five of my senses. The skies will darken, the distant booms echo across the atmosphere and big drops of rain promise a coming fusillade of rain.

“The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars…and strips the forests bare.” One of the most intense storm systems I saw move across the county happened in my first year of patrol. The hail was so large it killed geese that had been out in the open. My partner’s squad car looked like it had been the victim of a Palestinian car bomb. The trees had been stripped bear of their leaves and covered the road completely. It was as slick as driving on any icy road in the winter. Trees had been uprooted in cemeteries, ripping up headstones with them and limbs crashed through houses and buildings.

“The voice of the Lord flashes forth flames of fire.” One of the most incredible sights I ever saw happened at 0200 while driving north on a dark road. I was in the perfect position to see an enormous comet rip across the sky from one end to the other. The comet was at least 100 times bigger than any shooting star I had ever seen and turned the black night into brilliant light for about five seconds. It was as if Luke Skywalker had pierced the earth’s atmosphere with a gigantic light saber. After it happened my mouth dropped, simply stunned by what just occurred. I had never seen anything like it in my life and thought I was about to witness Revelation 19 unfold in front of me.

“The Lord sits enthroned over the flood.” Last summer brought flooding to several parts of the county. Parts of roads swept away as creeks turned into rivers and rivers turn into rapids.

The humid heat, bitter cold, thundering storms, raging winds, damaging tornadoes and crippling snowstorms all testify to the fact that God is enthroned  as King forever. They all obey his commands and shout his glory and cause me to worship as I am on patrol.

“Ascribe to the Lord glory due his name; worship the Lord in the splendor of holiness.” Psalm 29:2

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

