Death is The Supreme Festival

I am sitting down to begin constructing a biographical sketch on Dietrich Bonhoeffer. This is for a session of a seminar that my church is putting on called No Other God: The heart, mind and practice of love and worship. My goal is to tie loving God and worshiping God into obedience and Bonhoeffer is an example of one who did it. I am leaning solely on Eric Metaxas’ biography called Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy.

I read the 551 page book last summer and re-reading parts of it have been a reminder of living a life in Christ with joy in obedience. After Bonhoeffer’s death Bishop Bell gave an address at his memorial service in London. It is a fitting testimony to a robust, full life that was lived:

We give thanks to God for the life, the suffering, the witness of our brother whose friends we were privileged to be. We pray God to lead us, too, through his discipleship from this world into His heavenly kingdom; to fulfill in us that other word with which Dietrich concluded his obituary of Harnack: ‘non potest non laetari qui sperat in Dominum’- ‘while in God confiding I cannot but rejoice.'” (542)

If you live in the area, please consider coming to this seminar on June 29th through 30th. I am looking forward to hearing what the other sessions will be in regard to this important topic of the Christian life.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

