Adoption and God’s Faithfulness

When we first decided to go to the Together For Adoption conference, my  first thought was, “How are we going to pay for this?” I think a few years ago this thought would have kept me completely from embarking on this venture. I am practical by nature and often to a fault. But thanks be to God, that by his grace my heart has been changing. I have seen a relinquishing grip from my desire to control every aspect of life and an increasing faith in God’s provision.

So we prayed for God to provide the money to go this conference. We want to learn and grow in our understanding of adoption before jumping into the deep end of the pool. Our first big expense was plane tickets. I put together a watch list on Kayak.com and three weeks ago they dropped to the lowest prices I think they would probably get, so we purchased them. A week later I had the opportunity to speak to a youth group over the weekend at their church retreat at Timber Bay Camp in Onamia, MN. On the last day the pastor gave me a honorarium for speaking and it came within $30 of the cost for the plane tickets. I was blown away.

Then, last week Noel Piper posted on her blog that she was giving away free conference registration to people who linked on Facebook. Tweeted, and posted on their blog about the T4A conference. Johanna and I plastered it all over our social media outlets and this afternoon I found out that my name was randomly drawn as one of the the winners.

God has shown himself abundantly merciful to us and I have no doubt that he will continue to do so as we begin the adoption process. He has promised to provide all of our needs according to his riches and glory. Today they were more evident than ever.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

One response to “Adoption and God’s Faithfulness

Leave a Reply

