The Tension Exists

There is almost a constant tension being a cop and a Christian as I work out of a patrol car. Some nights, when the calls are slow I don’t feel it as much. Other nights it is so real that it is simply inescapable. I really want to help people with their problems yet the solution of law enforcement is only a quickly applied band-aid. Now, I enjoy being the band-aid. I enjoy driving fast, tracking down wicked people and putting them in jail for hurting other people. That “quickly applied band-aid” is absolutely necessary for any society to function. God has designed the government to have a monopoly on force because without it only the fittest and meanest would survive.

Mile after mile, call after call I see people who need Jesus. I am no different than any of them. We are are a wreck in our sin and needing a great Savior. I want to tell them that. I want them to know that church is not just a place to attend on Sunday. It is a place to find healing, forgiveness of sin, restoration in marriage and most vitally- an all-satisfying relationship with Jesus.

I find it interesting that some of the most desperate calls for help come at the same time. A naked, strung-out, intoxicated male runs through a trailer park. A suicidal male assaults his wife, interferes with her calling 911 and takes off from the house with a rifle. A distraught, 22 year old is a wreck because he can’t get custody of his daughter or see her, so he starts sending text messages to his girlfriend about planning on putting a bullet in his head. These three calls came within three hours of each other.

There is brokenness everywhere. When I go to these calls I pray for my safety and the safety of my partners. When I leave these calls I pray for the trail of hurting people it leaves behind.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

