A Godward Life, A Praying Life, 9 Marks

I am coming to the end of three books right now.

A Godward Life is a devotional by John Piper that Johanna and I have been reading through before we go to bed. This is a bite-size portion of John Piper that covers many topics. Each devotional is about two pages long, takes 5-7 minutes to read, and range from the theological to the political to the personal. His devotional entitled Prayer and Predestination was a breakthrough for me. I cannot underestimate the way God used it to change the way I view prayer.

 

A Praying Life by Paul Miller has also been extravagantly helpful for my prayer life. His themes of dependency and childlikeness in prayer have changed the way I come to my Father in prayer. The end of the book has practical, real life tips on how to pray. His use of prayer cards (3×5 cards instead of lists) and a prayer journal are gold.

9 Marks of a Healthy Church by Mark Dever is a book about just that. He lists 9 qualities that a church should have to make it a healthy, vibrant church that is bringing glory to God. These 9 marks are ones he believes are seriously lacking in American churches today.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

