A Good Cop

Last March I had noticed one of my partners had called into work sick two days in a row. I called him up to see how he was doing and got news that I was not expecting- he had a cyst in his brain and was needing brain surgery within the next few days. The surgery went well, the cyst was removed, yet following the surgery he experienced some seizures. Through a series of events that followed he reached the difficult decision that taking a medical retirement was the best route for him and his family.

During my first three years as a cop I worked with him as my partner in the northern city of our county. We had a great working relationship and had fun responding to all the types of calls that cops deal with. I remember responding with him to a suspicious vehicle parked in the middle of a dirt road late at night. The driver was intoxicated and fled from us on foot through a corn field. I saw Chad chase down our suspect and bear hug him as they fell to the ground. We were all smiles afterwards.

Not all cops are cut from the same cloth. Chad was proactive, hard working and had an ability to remember names that I envy. I trusted him to have my back as we went through doors and knew he would be right there if anything went sideways. I will miss him a lot but am thankful for the memories we had and for the privilege of the time I had to work the streets with him. This post is dedicated to a great cop that I will miss. Our friendship though will continue.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

