Discerning God’s Will (Part I)

I have unexpectedly come to a place of introspection and looking at how I want to spend my life for Christ. With this comes a wrestling over trajectory, plans and desires. Here are a few things that have helped me recently.Typing this out in a blog posts helps me remember these truths and sink them deeper into my heart and mind.

“From of old no one has heard or perceived by the ear, no eye has seen a God besides you, who acts for those who wait for him.” (Isaiah 64:4)

I don’t like to wait. It goes against my desire to be active and productive. Yet Scripture tells us that waiting is productive if it is done right. How do I wait correctly on the Lord? I think part of the answer is found in the next verse. Isaiah says, “You meet him who joyfully works righteousness, those who remember you in your ways (verse 5).” Verse 6 goes on to say that all our righteousness (or right deeds) are like a “polluted garment.” How does that fit in with verse 5 where we are told that God will meet those who work righteousness?

The entire chapter is a prayer for God’s mercy on a sinful nation. Israel had walked away from their God who had done amazing things for them. Mountains quaked and awesome works were done (v. 3). Isaiah is reminding the nation of what God did and what he can still do if they repent. In verse 8 he says “…we are the clay and you are our potter, we are all the work of your hand.

So, the ungodly righteous person will see himself as the producer of good deeds and will see himself as the potter. The godly righteous person will see God as the producer of his good deeds and God as the potter.  Verse 5 describes a person who is acknowledging God in the way he lives his life. Those who want to live for God and are willing to wait on him will joyfully do good deeds. That is the man for whom God will act for.

If this were an equation it would be:

Repentance – Ungodly Righteousness + Remembrance of his ways X Joyful works of Righteousness= God acting in unbelievable ways

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

One response to “Discerning God’s Will (Part I)

Leave a Reply

