71 State Parks

Minnesota has 71 state parks, of which we have visited about 8. During our current trip on the north shore I discovered that the Department of Natural Resources has a passport club program which helps one keep track of visits to each of these parks. July 17, 2011 my family began their goal of visiting all 71 of these parks. My aim here is to:

  1. Have a greater awe of my God who is an awesomely creative architect of this earth.
  2. Enjoy achieving a goal as a family.
  3. Explore the expanses of the great state of Minnesota.
  4. Challenge and expand my photography skills.

Our first stop was Tetteghouche State Park. Located on Highway 61, north of Two Harbors, this state park has the largest waterfall in Minnesota. The 1.5 mile hike to the High Waterfall was  pleasant and the weather could not have been more perfect. The buds on the trees and plants were just starting to burst. Shovel Point has a beautiful cove and beach. Just south of the park entrance is Palisade Head, which overlooks Lake Superior and the shoreline is the most breathtaking I have ever seen.

One down, 70 to go.

The High Falls, 60 foot waterfall, tallest in Minnesota.

What is left of the Tettegouche Arch. The arch collapsed a few years ago.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

