Easter 2011

We cranked up Easter songs at our house yesterday morning as we were getting ready for church. The Easter Song by Keith Green, Jesus Paid It All, and Alive Again by Matt Maher were just a few of them. Alive Again stirred the affections inside my soul of thankfulness to God for shattering my darkness and giving me life.

Late have I loved you,

You waited for me I searched for you

What took me so long?

For many years I lived a life opposite of Philippians 3:4. I thought I had to earn God’s approval through my good works. The concept of grace did not register in my works-driven, righteousness-seeking mind. When I didn’t sin I felt good about myself, and when I did sin I felt as if God was distant from me.

God’s Word completely changed that in November of 2007. He became alive to me again as the rays of God’s piercing grace shot through to the depths of my heart. That which God requires of us, he freely gives us through Jesus Christ. How fitting was it this year that the weather was so cold, gray and gloomy from Maundy Thursday through Saturday night? On Sunday morning we were greeted with the warmth of the sun. The same was true for my heart which had been dead to the depths of joy that are experienced in knowing Jesus Christ- really knowing him.

We worshiped Jesus Sunday morning at Grace Church. The only reason we were standing there, lifting our voices in praise to God, is because of the sheer grace that was purchased for us by the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ. We hear it so often that it becomes non-penetrating. The Creator and Sustainer of this universe died for my sins. It blows my mind.

 “…and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death.”

Philippians 3:9,10

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

