Endurance

I am nearing the end of my Bible reading plan this year which puts me in Revelation. This book reads like a graphic novel and unfolds the end times with descriptions of dragons, beasts, angels, stars and calamities. This book talks about things to come and awakens my soul to the seriousness and brevity of this life. You probably won’t here these verses on Christian radio as “hope and encouragement.” Rather they are a call for endurance (Revelation 13:10)

“Behold, he is coming with the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him, and all the tribes of the earth will wail on account of him. Even so. Amen.”   Revelation 1:7

“Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent…The one who conquers, I will grant to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne.”   Revelation 3:19,21

“And they have conquered him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, for they loved not their lives even unto death.”   Revelation 12:11

Finally, Revelation 19:11-16 gives a picture of Jesus coming back again. This time he will be coming on a white horse, with a sword coming out of his mouth, dawning a white robe with the blood of his foes staining it and a tattoo on his leg bearing the name King of kings and Lord of lords. He will rule with a rod of iron and tread the winepress of God’s fury.

Let that description blow up our ill-conceived picture of a blond hair, blue-eyed Jesus petting lambs and speaking in a soft voice.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

