Am I A Good Band-Aid?

Sometimes this job grabs at my heart and makes me starkly realize how deep the pain is in people’s lives. Bad decisions are sometimes the cause of this pain, while other times it is at no fault to the victim. Either way, I am thankful that my heart stays soft to these hurts that are happening.

Once I did a traffic stop at 11:30 at night on a vehicle that had a head light out. As I approached the vehicle I noticed a little boy in the back seat that couldn’t have been more than 2 years old. He reminded me of my son, as he looked at me with big blue eyes and a head full of blonde hair.

The driver was his mother and I inquired about why she was out so late with her little boy. Tears started streaming down her face as she said, “I’m trying to find his daddy.” It made me want to find this deadbeat dad and teach him what it means to be a real man. It is not about abandoning your family on  a Saturday night so you can act like a little boy, indulging yourself in whatever pleasures fancy your immature brain at the time.

The following week I had stopped into a gas station to refuel on some coffee at 3:00 in the morning. I try to make it a point to stop and chat with the cashiers when I am in there. This time one of the cashiers thanked me for chatting the previous week because it made her week. Really? I made her week because I talked to her for five minutes about her dog. Loneliness is a heart wrenching thing to go through.

When I am done with my career I hope that I was able to bring some comfort to people in their times of need and hurt. Cops are just a band-aid at certain points in people’s lives and not a fix-all solution. I hope and pray that I am an effective band-aid though.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

