The Book of Eli

I recently watched The Book of Eli which has a surprisingly positive message towards Christianity. The plot of the movie interested me a great deal more than the action and violence. These are some of the thoughts I had at the end.

1. God’s Word is a treasure– The only copy left of the Bible was in the possession of Eli. Eli would read from it every day and quote passages from it to other people, who were absolutely devoid of knowing what its contents were. If I was faced with the decision  to keep one material item I own, it would be the Bible. Its message has the power to save, heal, restore and redeem.

2. The Bible can be used for good or for evil– Eli wanted to use it to restore people’s souls but Carnegie (the nemesis) wanted to use it to control people. This has been the case throughout history. Corrupt men will twist its message to secure their own evil ends. Others will die to tell people about its good news.

3. Eli didn’t want to waste his life– Eli could have sought his own safety and pleasure  instead of following the mission he had. He risked pain and death so that other people would know about God’s Word.

4. God chose Eli– Eli recounts about what happened 30 years prior in which God told him to carry His Word to the west. The story is similar to the Apostle Paul being chosen by God to carry his message to the world. It is important for Christians to know that we did not save ourselves. God, in his mercy, saved us from sin and gave us a mission in life.

5. Eli walked by faith– Solora could not understand how Eli could simply walk west and not know exactly where he was supposed to go or what to do. Eli said that he walked by faith and not by sight. To the Christian this is a treasure because we are led by the Maker of the universe. To the world who does not understand it, this is foolishness.

Dear Lord, Thank you for giving me the strength and the conviction to complete the task you entrusted to me. Thank you for guiding me straight and true through the many obstacles in my path. And for keeping me resolute when all around seemed lost. Thank you for your protection and your many signs along the way. Thank you for any good that I may have done, I’m so sorry about the bad. Thank you for the friend I made. Please watch over her as you watched over me. Thank you for finally allowing me to rest. I’m so very tired, but I go now to my rest at peace. I fought the good fight, I finished the race, I kept the faith.

Eli

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

