How Vital is Jesus?

“I speak to you as a Christian. Jesus Christ is my Lord and God and Savior and Song day and night. I can live without food, without drink, without sleep, without air, but I cannot live without Jesus. Without him I would have perished long ago. Without him and his church reconciling men to God, the world would have perished long ago. I live in and on the Bible for long hours every day. The Bible is the source of every good thought and impulse I have. In the Bible God himself, the Creator of everything from nothing, speaks to me and to the world directly, about himself, about ourselves, and about his will for the course of events and for the consummation of history. And believe me, not a day passes without my crying from the bottom of my heart, ‘Come, Lord Jesus.'”

Charles Malik in 1980

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

One response to “How Vital is Jesus?

  • Anna S.

    Wow….what a powerful paragraph! It left the wind knocked out of me, asking myself if I really do think I could live without anything but Jesus – oh I truly hope that I could! But just to have to ask myself if I could, what a lowly prideful sinner am I! Thanks for the reminder, I needed that.

Leave a Reply

