The Vancouver Winter Olympics

I have thoroughly enjoyed watching the winter Olympics this year. This event has much more of an attraction for me to watch as compared to its counterpart, the summer Olympics. I couldn’t articulate why that was, until I saw a video on www.nbcolympics.com.  The video showed amazing footage of various athletes participating in the different sports of the winter olympics. A narrartor began saying that the pain makes the goal more alluring. What would a gold medal mean if it wasn’t coupled with danger and pain?

“Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control,  lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” I Corinthians 9:25

This is the verse that popped into my head when I heard those words. Pain and suffering in this world exists so that we may treasure Christ more. It is present that we may find joy in Him who will one day take away the pain and wipe every tear from our eye. May we, as Christians, choose to not waste our suffering. May we strive for the eternal crown just as Lindsey Vonn and Bode Miller strive for gold medals.

Vonn skied down one of the most dangerous courses in the world on a bruised shin. The pain was real and the danger was stark. Yet she had a prize in mind. A desire. It was a goal that, if achieved, would produce happiness. That joy she had is comparable to a thumbnail in a 50 gallon drum when it comes to the happiness that awaits us in Christ. May we taste and see that joy for ourselves and seek to share it with the world. There is nothing like it.

About justicetheline

Above all I am a Christian Hedonist pursuing my ultimate satisfaction and joy in God. This blog contains postings about what God is teaching me through his Word, is an outlet for some of my photography, and will occasionally include stories about my experiences as a deputy sheriff on patrol. View all posts by justicetheline

Leave a Reply

